Jesus' Footprints

Failure

Posted on: 28 Jun 2011

Nobody likes to fail.  I remember how awful I felt when I failed my driver’s road test.  I felt like a complete failure.  I called my mother and I was in tears.  She comforted me.  I got over my feelings and moved on. 

When we fail at something, we feel crushed but God is there, ready to comfort us.  He wants to lift our spirits.  He wants to assure us that we are not failures.  He wants to encourage us to try again–to keep trying.  He doesn’t want us to give up. 

Sometimes we fail at something because we take it for granted.  A fellow church member failed a physical exam which he had taken many times before.  He said it was because he figured that he would pass it and didn’t really prepare for it.  He had to take it again.  He prepared for it and this time he passed with flying colors. 

Failure is nothing to be disheartened or ashamed about.  It happens to the best of us.  Famous writers have had manuscripts rejected.  Recording artists have had their first record flop.  Movies fail at box offices.  Marriages fail.  Relationships fail.  At some point in our lives we will all face failure but it is how we handle it is what counts.  We can either feel sorry for ourselves or we can get up, brush ourselves off and try again.

Failure is not the end of the world.  It should make us all the more determined.  We should not allow it to discourage us.  God urges us to “be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” 

God wants us to believe that we can succeed the next time.  Like Paul, we can declare, “For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need” (Philippians 4:13).

The next time you fail, don’t let it get you down.   “Remember the good man does not escape all troubles—he has them too.  But the Lord helps him in each and every one (Psalm 34:19).  You’re not alone.  God is right there with you.  Even though you might feel like a failure—God will never fail you.

Leave a Reply

