Jesus' Footprints

Mother’s Day

Posted on: 9 May 2011

Yesterday we celebrated Mother’s Day.  I was able to spend some time with my mother and watch her and my son together.  He is her only grandchild and I am grateful to God for blessing me with him. 

I was among the fortunate women whose mothers are still around.  I thought of my co-worker who lost her mother a while ago and how difficult this day must be for her and others who have lost their mothers.  Their losses made me thankful and appreciate my mother more.

I think about my aunt inEnglandwho was a lively person but now seems to have lost the will to live and is just waiting for her end to come.  I feel sad because I remember what a joy she was to be around. 

I think of mothers who don’t know what it’s like to celebrate mother’s day because they are poor and struggling to raise their kids or mothers who don’t know what’s like to treated special on this day.  All they know is a life of misery and heartache.  They may get flowers but after a beating. 

I think of women who died before they had a chance to celebrate mother’s day.  I think of the women who die in childbirth because they don’t have access to the care they need.  I think of how blessed I was to have had a safe pregnancy and childbirth because of the care I received. 

I think of the virtuous woman whom Solomon wrote about and the kind of mother she was.  She provides for her family.  Her children call her blessed.  If she were around today, she would had celebrated mother’s day with her family.  Her husband who praised her would gladly go out of his way to make the day very special for her.   Had Moses been around today, no doubt he would celebrate the mother who gave birth to him and the mother who raised him.  Both women loved him and did what they believed was best for him.   Isaac must have been close to his mother.  Genesis 24:67 says that Rebekah was a  special comfort to him after the death of his mother.

One of my co-workers told me how excited her son was to bring home some chicken wings for her because that was what she had told him she wanted when he asked her.  It’s heartwarming to hear how a child is happy simply because he did something that would make his mother happy.

Mother’s day is all about showing the women who raised us how much we love and appreciate them.  We want them to know that they will always have a special place in our hearts.  I can now appreciate what it means to be a mother. 

For God, it’s important that we honor our mothers (Exodus 20:12).  We must not look down on them when they are old (Proverbs 23:22).  I will never forget the story of the man who kept his mother in the garage even though there were empty bedrooms in the house.  To discipline a child produces wisdom, but a mother is disgraced by an undisciplined child. (Proverbs 29:15).   We are not to neglect our mothers’ instructions (Proverbs 6:20).  No matter how old we are, we should not discard our mothers’ advice.

I think we should celebrate our mothers everyday.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

