Jesus' Footprints

Good Friday? What’s So Good About It?

Posted on: 22 Apr 2011

Growing up in Guyana, I remember Good Friday as being a very solemn day. We weren’t allowed to play or make any noise. The place was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. I can’t say that I liked the day because as a child you like to run around and play and keep noise. I never understood why the day was called good. I knew it was the day that the Lord died on the cross. What was good about that? I was glad when Friday was over.

On Easter Sunday my family and I went to my father’s church. I knew that this was a much happier day than the Friday. People dressed up in their Sunday best. We sang hymns and it was always a beautiful, sunny day unlike Good Friday, which was always overcast. My favourite memory of Easter was going kite flying on Easter Monday. My family and I would drive up to an open ground, take lunch and my father would raise the kite and then give me the to hold when it was high in the air, moving gently from side to side. I think he enjoyed flying the kite as much as I did. He was the one who chose the kite.

 

For the longest time I remained clueless as to why the Friday on which Jesus died on the cross was called, “Good”. Then, recently I really thought about it and came up with the following reasons.

 

Prophecy was fulfilled

: “And after the sixty-two weeks Messiah shall be cut off, but not for Himself; But in the middle of the week He shall bring an end to sacrifice and offering. (Daniel 9:26, 27)

The Love of God was demonstrated:

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

Sinners were converted: The Thief on the cross who asked,

 

“Lord, remember me when You come into Your kingdom.” (Luke 23:42)

The Centurion

, he saw what had happened, he glorified God, saying, “Certainly this was a righteous Man!” (Verse 47)

Reconciled to God:

For God in all his fullness was pleased to live in Christ, and by him God reconciled everything to himself. He made peace with everything in heaven and on earth by means of his blood on the cross. This includes you who were once so far away from God. You were his enemies, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions, yet now he has brought you back as his friends. He has done this through his death on the cross in his own human body. As a result, he has brought you into the very presence of God, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault. (1 Colossians 1:19-22)

Barriers were broken:

For Christ himself has made peace between us Jews and you Gentiles by making us all one people. He has broken down the wall of hostility that used to separate us. By his death he ended the whole system of Jewish law that excluded the Gentiles. His purpose was to make peace between Jews and Gentiles by creating in himself one new person from the two groups. Together as one body, Christ reconciled both groups to God by means of his death, and our hostility toward each other was put to death. (

Satan was defeated:

Because God’s children are human beings-made of flesh and blood-Jesus also became flesh and blood by being born in human form. For only as a human being could he die, and only by dying could he break the power of the Devil, who had the power of death. Only in this way could he deliver those who have lived all their lives as slaves to the fear of dying. (Hebrews 2:14, 15)

Life-changing experience:

As for me, God forbid that I should boast about anything except the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. Because of that cross, my interest in this world died long ago, and the world’s interest in me is also long dead. It doesn’t make any difference now whether we have been circumcised or not. What counts is whether we really have been changed into new and different people. May God’s mercy and peace be upon all those who live by this principle. They are the new people of God. (Galatians 6:14-16)

It doesn’t matter how many times I read or watch a movie depicting Jesus’ death on the cross I always get emotional. It touches me just to see what He went through for us. He paid the ultimate price. So, what’s good about Good Friday? It’s the day Jesus finished the work He came here to do.

Leave a Reply

