Jesus' Footprints

Doing God’s Will

Posted on: 10 Feb 2011

It is not always easy to say to God, “Thy will be done.” I think Ananias would agree with me. Following the conversion of the apostle, Paul, the Lord spoke to Ananias in a vision. He said to him, The Lord said, “Go over to Straight Street, to the house of Judas. When you arrive, ask for Saul of Tarsus. He is praying to me right now. I have shown him a vision of a man named Ananias coming in and laying his hands on him so that he can see again.”

“But Lord,” exclaimed Ananias, “I’ve heard about the terrible things this man has done to the believers in Jerusalem! And we hear that he is authorized by the leading priests to arrest every believer in Damascus.”

But the Lord said, “Go and do what I say. For Saul is my chosen instrument to take my message to the Gentiles and to kings, as well as to the people of Israel. And I will show him how much he must suffer for me” (Acts 9:11-16, NLT).

Ananias knew better than to argue with the Lord. So, he did as he was told and went to Saul. Jesus didn’t say, “I know how you feel. You have every right to question my decision.” Instead, He said, “Go and do what I say.” God’s will is to be done, whether we agree with it or not.

Similarly when He spoke to Peter in a vision, asking him to go and teach the Gentiles, the apostle objected strongly, not understanding the vision. A sheet was let down from heaven and in it were all kinds of four-footed animals of the earth, wild beasts, creeping things, and birds of the air.  And a voice came to him, “Rise, Peter; kill and eat.”

But Peter said, “Not so, Lord! For I have never eaten anything common or unclean.”

And a voice spoke to him again the second time, “What God has cleansed you must not call common.”  This was done three times. And the object was taken up into heaven again

(Acts 10: 11-16). Peter later realized what the vision meant. The Lord wanted him to preach to Cornelius, a devout Gentile and his household. The unclean animals, beasts, creeping things and birds represented the Gentiles whom the Jews considered to be unclean.  It was God’s will that the Gospel be preached to them.  Salvation was of the Jews but now it was time for it to be offered to the Gentiles. 

In the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus was agonizing over what was about to happen to him.  “Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.” He in such agony, His sweated blood.  He prayed earnestly.  His time had come and it was God’s will that He take the cup and drink from it.  And Jesus was obedient to the Father even unto death.

Today, we might be struggling with God’s will for our lives.  He might want us to end relationships that we are not willing to let go of or want us to stay in the workplace we are anxious to leave because we can’t seem to get along with our boss or one of our co-workers.  Remember God knows best.  He sees much farther in the future than we do.  We allow feelings to get in the way of reason or common sense but God doesn’t.  Allow God to work His will in your lives.  Though you can’t make sense of it right now, you will thank Him one day.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

