Jesus' Footprints

Training For Godliness

Posted on: 15 Jan 2011

Today, I read 1 Timothy 4:8 which says, “Physical training is good, but training for godliness is much better, promising benefits in this life and in the life to come.”  I have always been promising myself to get into shape, especially after having my toddler who is almost three years old.  I still have to get my tummy down and was told that sit-ups would help.  I started to do sit-ups but didn’t continue as I should have.   After several periods where I started and stopped, I stopped altogether.

Just recently at work, a reporter came into my department to do a story about sitting and how too much of it could affect our physical health.  I was one of the people interviewed.  I am guilty of sitting too long at my desk and hardly getting up, except to go to the washroom or to buy lunch.  I don’t go for breaks.  I don’t go for walks.  I take the elevator instead of the stairs.

Yesterday I decided to get up from my desk more frequently and to take the stairs and I felt much better.  I will continue to do this everyday.  I have decided to take charge of my health and do what I need to in order to keep in good shape.

Now I need to do the same with my spiritual health.  Today, Paul’s message drive that realization home.  I need to train for godliness.  Why?  The benefits are great in this life and in the life to come.  Physical training is just good for a time in this life but after a while age besets you and your body breaks down.  Spiritual training is good for this life because it benefits your mental, emotional, physical and psychological health and it also benefits others.  It prepares you for God’s kingdom which is the life to come.

What is godliness?  It means to have the attitude and character of God.  In other words, we are to be like Him.  We are to have His ways, thoughts, etc.  We are to be holy as He is holy.  Sin and things that are worldly should have no dominion in our lives.  We should not be friends with the world.  We should be walking in the Spirit and not in the flesh.  We should be loving and kind to others.  Becoming like God should warrant the same kind of commitment as working out at a gym.   We train to become godly by studying God’s Word, spending time with God.  The best way to know God and become like Him is to spend as much time with Him as possible.  Jesus was like His Father because He spend time with Him.  He emulated the Father, doing the things He saw Him do.

Make a commitment today to exercise unto godliness because the benefits go beyond this world and into all eternity.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

