Jesus' Footprints

Effective Prayer

Posted on: 12 Jan 2011

“Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks. You parents-if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! If you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.” (Matthew 7:7-11)

Basically Jesus is saying the same thing the apostle Paul said, “pray without ceasing” A lot of us pray for something and when we don’t get it, we stop praying assuming that it is not God’s will for us to have it. I have been praying for another job. I want to work in the Lord’s ministry. I am ready for it. I have been praying about this for a while now and so far nothing has materialized but I will not give up.

Just recently I read that God delays answering prayers for several reasons. Sometimes He keeps us waiting to show us His power and sovereignty to remind us that He has the right to give or to withhold. He delays for our own good. I think in my case it is to show me that I genuinely want this and that it’s not a novelty. The longer I wait the more I will appreciate it when it does happen.

Whatever the reason, I am not going to despair but will continue to pray about it. Jesus encouraged people to be persistent in their prayers—not to give up because they haven’t been answered. The Father does not withhold things from us unless He has good reason. The psalmist declares, “No good thing will the Lord withhold from those who do what is right.” If it is His will, the desires of our hearts will be granted. Just keep on asking.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

