Jesus' Footprints

A Living Sacrifice to God

Posted on: 6 Jan 2011

The Bible tells us that we all have gifts.  These gifts are to be used to honor God and to bless others.  The apostle Paul tells us that, “God has given each of us the ability to do certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out when you have faith that God is speaking through you.  If your gift is that of serving others, serve them well. If you are a teacher, do a good job of teaching. If your gift is to encourage others, do it! If you have money, share it generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.”

The gift God has blessed me with is writing.  I love to write and He has used my writing to tell others about Him and what He has done in my life and other lives.  He has used my writing to encourage people.  Writing is my way of expressing myself—I am more comfortable with the written word rather than the spoken word. 

God gives us abilities that best suit our personalities.  I am not comfortable speaking in public so I was not given the ability to be a public speaker or a pastor or a teacher.  I have the ability to write so I write as if God were dictating to me.  He has given me the gift of encouraging others.   I have noticed that the more I ask Him to use me the more gifts He is blessing me with.  I enjoy showing others kindness.  I love to give.  I have been given leadership ability, something I never expected I would be doing.  God enables us to do anything once we put our trust in Him. 

Paul encourages us to “be glad for all God is planning for you. Be patient in trouble, and always be prayerful. When God’s children are in need, be the one to help them out” (Romans 12:1-12) I am glad for all that God is planning for me because I know that He has my best interest at heart.  I am excited to be serving Him.  It brings honor and glory to Him and fills me with joy. 

If God has given you an ability or a gift that could bring Him glory and help others, use it.  If you don’t know what your gift is, ask God to tell you.  A gift doesn’t have to be something as outstanding as playing the piano or preaching.  Cooking is a gift and you can use this gift to feed the homeless.  You could be a good listener and sometimes that is what people need.  Or perhaps you are great with children.  You can sign up to become a big brother or sister to a little boy or girl.  God has given you a gift.  Share it.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

