Jesus' Footprints

Stand Up For Truth

Posted on: 3 Jan 2011

Today, I read something which really surprised me.  It’s in the book of Proverbs.  It is not good to show partiality in judgment.  He who says to the wicked, “You are righteous,” Him the people will curse; Nations will abhor him.   But those who rebuke the wicked will have delight, And a good blessing will come upon them (Proverbs 24:23-25).

How could people call wicked people righteous?  That doesn’t make any sense.  This reminds me of what the prophet Isaiah said.  “Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil” (Isaiah 5:20).  Nowadays, people condone what is wrong or contrary to God’s word.  To them it is normal or even something to be proud of.  And when Christians speak out against these things, they are criticized and the Word of God is called into question.  What is bad becomes good and what is good becomes bad according to the world’s standards.

The religious leaders condemned the good that Jesus did.  They even went as far as attributing the power of the Holy Spirit through which Jesus worked to demons (Matthew 9:34).  I remember when they grilled the man who was born blind and his sight was restored.

The Pharisees claimed that Jesus was not from God because He did not keep the Sabbath.  They believed that Jesus broke the Sabbath because He healed this blind man on it.  They raked the man over coals, trying to get him to say something incriminating against Jesus but the man stood his ground.

He said to them, “Now we know that God does not hear sinners; but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does His will, He hears him.  Since the world began it has been unheard of that anyone opened the eyes of one who was born blind.  If this Man were not from God, He could do nothing” (John 9:31-33).  Of course, the Pharisees were mad that this man whom they called a sinner should say such things to them.  They threw him out of the synagogue.

Just as it is shameful to call a wicked person righteous, it is shameful to call a righteous man a sinner as the religious leaders did about Jesus (John 9:24).  Why would a sinner give a blind man sight?  And by His very act of restoring sight to a man born blind, Jesus was giving God the Father glory.

Do not be afraid to speak out against the wicked.  John the Baptist spoke out against King Herod’s marriage to his brother’s wife.  He died for it but it was better to die for God’s truth than to turn a blind eye.  As Jesus said, “Whoever seeks to save his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life will preserve it” (Luke 17:33).

I always remember the quote, “Evil thrives when good men do nothing.”  In the church I used to attend, I saw hypocrisy and I wrote about it in an editorial.  Of course, there were people who opposed my editorial but I had to do it.  The Holy Spirit convicted me to write about what I saw and it would have been foolish not to do so.  I could not show partiality in judgment or turn a blind eye to what was happening in the church that bears Christ’s name.  I called things as I saw them.  I could not call what was bad good or what was ungodly righteous.

When confronted with a choice to speak up or look the other way, remember these words of Paul:  “For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ” (Galatians 1:10).  The former blind man stood up for Jesus and even though he was thrown out of the synagogue, he ended up better off.  He accepted Jesus as his Savior (John 9:38).

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

