Jesus' Footprints

Stay Connected

Posted on: 2 Jan 2011

Sometimes it really helps to read a children’s bible.  Today, I read Jesus’ teaching about The Vine and the Branches and the message was so simple.  The author explained things this way:  “You, as branches of my vine, are pruned by hearing my teachings.  Stay close to me and I will stay close to you.  Remember that a branch cannot grow fruit if it is cut off from the vine that provides it food and water.  In the same way, you can’t be fruitful if you are not connected to me.  Without me you can do nothing.  So, if you cut off your relationship to me, you will end up being thrown away because you are useless.  Stay close to me, study my words, know me, and your prayers will be answered.  My followers produce good fruit and that brings my Father joy!”

In order to produce good fruit and please God, the Father, we must stay connected  to Jesus.  We must abide in Him and in His Words.   We must be doers and not just hearers of His Word.  We must be like the wise man who built his house on the rock and not like the foolish man who built his on the sand.  Jesus is our Source–our lifeline.  Without Him we are like chaff.

Jesus said, “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men” (Matthew 5:13).  Unless we stay connected to Jesus we will lose our flavor and be useless.

Stay connected to Jesus, the Light so that “…your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:16).  Stay connected to the Vine.  There is life in the Vine.

2 Responses to "Stay Connected"

Yes there is Life in the Vine even though at times I may have lost the flavor of the salt, He will restored the seasonings in me; when I have not borne fruits, He will prune my branches to cling on to the vine; and when I have build my house on sands, He will tear it down and build a new one on the rock. All I need to do is to Hold On to Jesus, and let the Gardener (God) do the work for me to be purposeful. God Bless Edward

Hi Edward,

Thanks for sharing your testimony and reminding us that “He who has begun a good work in you will complete [it] until the day of Jesus Christ” (Philippians 1:6). All we have to do is to let go and let God.

God bless.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

