Jesus' Footprints

What’s Your Gift?

Posted on: 25 Dec 2010

A few evenings ago our toddler and I were singing Christmas songs.  The one he liked the best was “The Little Drummer Boy”, especially the “pa rum pum pum pum” part.

I never really paid attention to the lyrics until then and what stood out for me was when the little drummer boy said,

Baby Jesus, pa rum pum pum pum
I am a poor boy too, pa rum pum pum pum
I have no gift to bring, pa rum pum pum pum
That’s fit to give our King, pa rum pum pum pum

I didn’t realize until that moment that the song was about a poor young boy who, unable to afford a gift for the infant Jesus, plays his drum for the newborn with the Virgin Mary’s approval. The newborn seems to understand and smiles at the boy in gratitude (Wikipedia).

The little boy played his drum and the infant smiled.  Sometimes, the most precious gifts we can give God are not the expensive  or extravagant ones.  Our talents are gifts too.  The little boy used the talent God had blessed him with to glorify and honor His Son.  And it was much appreciated.

What’s your gift for Jesus this season?  Is it your talent?  Is it your time?  Is it your obedience?  Is it your love?  Give Him the gift that will put a smile on His face.


Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

