Jesus' Footprints

God’s Mercies

Posted on: 15 Dec 2010

Some time ago this hymn kept playing in my mind:

I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever:
I will sing, I will sing
I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever:
I will sing of the mercies of the LORD.

With my mouth will I make known
Thy faithfulness, Thy faithfulness
With my mouth will I make known
Thy faithfulness to all generations.

I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever:
I will sing of the mercies of the LORD.

I think God wants us to reflect on His many mercies.  We should sing of His mercies.  God has been so merciful to us.  Each day we see new mercies.  Each day we wake up feeling well, that’s God blessing us with good health.  Each day we get up to go to work that’s God blessing us with employment so that we can have food on our tables and roofs over our heads.  Each time we arrive at our destination safely that’s God watching over us.

God’s faithfulness and mercy go hand in hand.  He had mercy on Hannah.  Hannah was in deep anguish, crying bitterly as she prayed to the Lord.  And she made this vow: “O Lord Almighty, if you will look down upon my sorrow and answer my prayer and give me a son, then I will give him back to you. He will be yours for his entire lifetime, and as a sign that he has been dedicated to the Lord, his hair will never be cut.”

The Bible says the Lord remembered her request, and in due time she gave birth to a son. She named him Samuel, for she said, “I asked the Lord for him” (1 Samuel 1:10, 11, 19, 20).

Whenever we are hurting, God is faithful.  He comforts us every time.  It’s His nature.  He cannot stand by and watch us suffer.  His mercy is great.  It is everlasting.  For this reason, we can say to Him, But I will sing of Your power; Yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; For You have been my defense And refuge in the day of my trouble.  To You, O my Strength, I will sing praises; For God is my defense, My God of mercy” (Psalm 59:16, 17).

Leave a Reply

