Jesus' Footprints

Caleb

Posted on: 12 Dec 2010

Caleb, after 45 years had passed finally received his inheritance.  He was promised the land of Hebron where his foot had trodden because of what happened when he and the other spies returned from check out the land.  He reminds us in Joshua 14:7, 8.  “I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh Barnea to spy out the land, and I brought back word to him as it was in my heart.  Nevertheless my brethren who went up with me made the heart of the people melt but I wholly followed the Lord my God.”

God kept His promise where Caleb was concerned.  In Numbers 14:24 He said, “But My servant Caleb, because he has a different spirit in him and has followed Me fully, I will bring him into the land where he went and his descendants shall inherit it.”

We, like Caleb, ought to wholly follow God.  We are to follow Him completely.  We speak what is in our hearts and encourage others–encourage him to believe in the power and the promises of God and in His provisions.  If God says that He is going to do something we can believe and trust that He will even if things seem daunting as they did for the spies who went with Caleb.

We must have the right attitude.  The men who went with Caleb had a defeatist and negative attitude.  They said, “We are not able to go up against the people, for they are stronger than we.”  So they gave Israel a bad report (Numbers 14:31, 32).

Caleb said, “Let us go up at once and take possession, for we are well able to overcome it.”  He, unlike the other men, trusted in the strength of his God.  Also, he trusted God’s promise, “Send me to spy out the land of Canaan, which I am giving to the children of Israel” (Numbers 13:2).  We must always remember that our God is willing and able to do the things He promises.

Despite the fact that Caleb spent forty years wandering in the wilderness because of others’ unbelief, he did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith.  His faith helped in get through those years until finally, he was able to receive the land which God had promised to him.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

