Jesus' Footprints

Wisdom’s Call

Posted on: 10 Dec 2010

On my way to work on Tuesday morning, I read Proverbs 1 and was especially interested in verses 20-33.  Wisdom comes to life.  Solomon presents it as a woman.

She walks about in open squares, calling out to people, asking them  “How long, you simple ones, will you love simplicity?  For scorners delight in their scorning,  And fools hate knowledge.”  You could almost hear the urgency in her plea.   It is like John the Baptist who called people to turn from their ways.  It is like Jesus who began His ministry calling people to repent.  Wisdom is saying, “Turn back from the darkness, ignorance, simplicity, lack of knowledge and come to me.  I will give you light, knowledge.”

It reminds me of God.  Sometimes, He goes out of His way to find us.  It is like the shepherd and the lost sheep.  He left the ninety-nine and went to look for the one lost sheep.

Wisdom is going into the squares, looking for the lost.  She promises, “Turn at my rebuke; Surely I will pour out my spirit on you; I will make my words known to you.”  However, for those who refuse to heed her call, she warns  that “when they will call on me, but I will not answer;  They will seek me diligently, but they will not find me.  Because they hated knowledge And did not choose the fear of the LORD,  They would have none of my counsel.”

Wisdom leads us to God.  She gives us knowledge and teaches us to fear God.  She protects us from the enemy.  When we listen to her, we are safe, secure and have nothing to fear.  She protects us from making costly mistakes.  She gives us guidance for living in obedient lives.  Wisdom, like love, casts out fear.  Wisdom enables us to handle situations calmly and confidently.  We know that we can trust in God who sees the beginning and the end and will bring us through whatever situation we are in.  As Charles Swindoll wrote in his book, The Ragged Edge, “We can either lose our jobs or we can be promoted in our work, and neither will derail us.  Why?  Because we see it with God-given objectivity.  And we hand it in His wisdom.”

Wisdom gives us stability.  I love this quote about wisdom, “Through wisdom a house is built,  And by understanding it is established;  By knowledge the rooms are filled With all precious and pleasant riches” (Proverbs 24:7).

Why do people shun wisdom which could offer them so many benefits?  Wisdom keeps people from running to evil.  It keeps us from stumbling.  It keeps us in line with God and His Word.  In her own words, wisdom gives us reasons why we should seek her.  “ I, wisdom, dwell with prudence, And find out knowledge and discretion.  The fear of the LORD is to hate evil; Pride and arrogance and the evil way And the perverse mouth I hate.  Counsel is mine, and sound wisdom; I am understanding, I have strength.  By me kings reign,
And rulers decree justice.  By me princes rule, and nobles, All the judges of the earth. I love those who love me, And those who seek me diligently will find me” (Proverbs 8:12-17).

It was by wisdom that Solomon ruled.  It was by wisdom that he judged matters brought to his attention.  The most famous case he had was that of the two women who were fighting over a baby.  Both of them had babies but one of the babies died.  One claimed that the other stole her baby and replaced it with her dead one but the other denied this.  Solomon had to make a ruling to determine which of the two women was telling the truth.  He did so and the baby’s real mother was willing to give her son to the other woman rather than see him die.

Solomon ruled that she should have the child.  It is written in 1 Kings 3:28: And all Israel heard of the judgment which the king had rendered; and they feared the king, for they saw that the wisdom of God was in him to administer justice.  Wisdom helps us to make wise decisions and to exercise fair judgment.

When wisdom calls, how do you respond.

Leave a Reply

