Jesus' Footprints

Look on the Bright Side

Posted on: 8 Dec 2010

A long time ago a storm caused a power outage in my apartment building.  I had planned to cook and relax with a book so I wasn’t happy when I learned that we didn’t have any electricity.  I was hot and sticky and wanted to take a shower but the hot water wasn’t running.  I was not a happy camper.  I started to grumble and fret.  I managed to read the rest of the chapter in my book before it got darker.  I looked outside the window and noticed how the sky looked.  It was a mixture of crimson and blue.  It was beautiful and it was as if God was trying to get my mind off on the situation and to focus on Him and His handiwork.  It worked for a while until I noticed that the apartments across the way had electricity while my building was still in darkness.  I became frustrated again and grumbled to myself, thinking about how much I disliked my apartment building. 

Looking back, I realized how much time I wasted grumbling and fretting instead of looking on the bright side.  While the lights were out, I could have used the time to commune with God.  I could have shared with Him how thankful I was that the elevators were working so I didn’t have to walk up seven flights of stairs.  I should have remembered how bad it used to be in Guyana when we had blackouts often and just be thankful that only a handful of times it has happened since I have been here in Canada.  I could have called a friend I haven’t spoken to in a while.  I could have talked to God about something I have read in the Bible.

There are a lot of things I could have done instead of complaining and wishing that I lived somewhere else.  I learned a lot of things about myself that evening and that I ought to always look on the bright side.

Paul was right on the mark when he said, “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18).

Leave a Reply

