Jesus' Footprints

A Vision of Holiness

Posted on: 29 Nov 2010

The first thing that struck me when I read chapter 6 of Isaiah was the fact that the prophet saw the Lord.  He saw Him sitting on a throne, high and lifted up and His train filled the temple (verse 1).  What a vision!  Immediately Isaiah was aware of his own sinful condition in the presence of One who is so holy that seraphims are around the throne saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of Hosts; the whole earth is full of His glory (verse 3).

Isaiah confessed that he was a sinner–a man of unclean lips.  He believed that he was undone because he had seen God, the King.  It reminded me of Peter when he said to Jesus, Depart from me; for I am a sinful man, O Lord” (Luke 5:8).  One Bible commentator stated that Peter was in essence saying, “It was rather, Woe is me, Lord! How shall I abide this blaze of glory? A sinner such as I am is not fit company for Thee.”

Isaiah confessed with his mouth and one of the seraphims touched his mouth with a piece of hot coal and said, “ Behold, this has touched your lips;
Your iniquity is taken away, And your sin purged” (verse 7).

When we confess our sins God says to us, “Your iniquity is taken away and your sin purged.”  We confess and we are forgiven.  God gives us a clean slate to work with.  And once He does that He calls us to service and we are ready and willing to serve Him (verses 8, 9).

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

