Jesus' Footprints

The Miracles of Jesus

Posted on: 28 Nov 2010

No matter how often I watch “The Miracles of Jesus”, the beautiful animated movie classic I am always touched.  We bought it for our toddler but his Daddy and I always seem more engrossed in it.  We watched it yesterday and tears came to my eyes as I watched the expressions and tears of joy on the faces of the people when Jesus met their deepest needs.  The lives of the woman with the issue of blood, the little boy with palsy, Jairus’ daughter, the man with the withered hand were all touched by Jesus who responded to their faith and the faith of their loved ones.

The two miracles which particularly moved me were of the blind man and the cripple by the pool.  I felt sorry for the cripple when I saw him crawl to his mat and lay down in resignation.  Suddenly a shadowy figure approached him and he looked up.  It was Jesus.  Jesus motioned to him to get up and he did.  When he was standing, first he looked down at his feet and then up at Jesus.  Tears ran down his cheeks and then he hugged Jesus.

Jesus rubbed the blind man’s eyes and for a moment the screen went blank and then Jesus’ face swam into focus.  The first face the man saw was Jesus’ smiling face.  What a beautiful sight!  All his life he had been blind and the first thing he saw was the face of the One who gave him his sight.  Tears of joy poured down the man’s face and he bowed down and worshipped Jesus.  Tears filled my eyes as I watched these two men respond to Jesus’ acts of love and compassion.  Jesus met their deepest and most urgent needs.  He revealed them that God’s grace is for everyone–the man who was born blind through not fault of his or his parents’ and the cripple who desired to be well (John 9:1-3; 5:6, 7).

The miracle of love came into these people’s lives and restored them to the kind of life Jesus wanted for them.  He said, “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly” (John 10:10).

Jesus healed the brokenhearted and recovered sight to the blind (Luke 4:18).  He did the work His Father sent Him to do.  In doing so, He revealed the true character of God–a loving, merciful and compassionate Father who is not willing that anyone should suffer.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

