Jesus' Footprints

Time Out

Posted on: 10 Nov 2010

Today, I was so stressed out at work that I wanted to cry.  Things seemed to be coming at me from all directions and I was overwhelmed.  I had to take time out and leave my desk.

I grabbed the wonderful book I am reading and headed for the quiet dressing room where I knew I would find solace.  I sat there feeling the stress leave my body and a peace that could only come from God came over me.  I opened the book and lost myself in its pages for a while.

When Jesus needed to, He slipped away and found somewhere quiet where He could spend time with His Father.  Mark tells us of the time when Jesus had some quiet time.  Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed (Mark 1:35).  He was there for a while until His disciples went looking for Him.  We all need a time out or down time from the busyness around us.  We all need that time to refuel.

While I was sitting in the room, I reminded myself that God does not give us more than we can handle.  I asked Him for the strength to continue.  Then, I got up and went back to my desk.

The next time you feel stressed or overwhelmed, go somewhere quiet or take time out and lean on God your Tower of strength.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

