Jesus' Footprints

Gratitude

Posted on: 22 Oct 2010

The other day when I did something for our toddler he said, “Thank you, Mommy” and I could hear the gratitude in his little voice.  I am very grateful when he does little thoughtful things for me.  He would bring my slippers and put them down in front of me.  When I am feeling a little sad, he would look at me and say, “Mommy?” in a gentle voice.  This really touches my heart.   And when he offers me his bottle of juice and asks me if I want some.

I was watching Dancing With the Stars this Tuesday and there were about six young men who wanted to thank their mother who raised them after her husband was killed.  DWTS is her favorite show and her sons had a wonderful surprise for her.  They were going to dance the Rumba.  Their mother was in tears.  The audience went wild and gave them a standing ovation.  It was a touching tribute and it brought tears to my eyes.

Honoring our parents goes beyond respect and obedience.  We honor them by expressing gratitude.  I have learned first hand how challenging and rewarding parenting can be and have a newfound respect for my parents.  It is not easy raising one child let alone six.

God loves it when we show our parents gratitude.  In His Word, we are given good advice of how to get along with our parents.  Here are a few:

Proverbs 1:8:  My child, listen when your father corrects you.   Don’t neglect your mother’s instruction.

Proverbs 10:1: A wise child brings joy to a father;  a foolish child brings grief to a mother.

Proverbs 23:22: Listen to your father, who gave you life, and don’t despise your mother when she is old.

Proverbs 23:24, 25: The father of godly children has cause for joy.   What a pleasure to have children who are wise. So give your father and mother joy!  May she who gave you birth be happy.

We are grateful when our children show that they care.  God is no different.  He knows that we love Him but it is always nice to show Him.  Jesus demonstrated His love for His Father by being obedient and accomplishing the work He was sent to do.  He showed His love for His Father by keeping His commandments and reaching out to people in love and compassion.

Leave a Reply

