Jesus' Footprints

Watch What You Eat

Posted on: 21 Sep 2010

Yesterday I came across a list of the most dangerous food ingredients.  There were eight of them. 

  1. High-Fructose Corn Syrup
  2. Gluten
  3. Food Colouring
  4. Nitrates and Nitrites
  5. Flour
  6. Ractopamine
  7. BHA and BHT
  8. Aspartame

The ones on the list which concerned me were High-Fructose Corn Syrup, Gluten and Aspartame.  Our toddler likes Cheerios so we give him the multi-grain ones and he likes yogurt.  After reading about how dangerous these ingredients are, I was concerned that he was ingesting some of them.  I checked the back of the box of Cheerios and noticed an ingredient that said Golden syrup and those words jumped out at me.   I learned that in Canada, the product Corn Syrup is labelled as glucose/fructose and is found in an alarmingly wide array of products, from yogurt to bread to lunch meats. Some scientists say HFCS is more dangerous than regular sugar because it can affect normal appetite and can contain mercury.  We eat a lot of whole wheat bread and Rye.  Which brings me to my next concern–Gluten. 

We bought bread yesterday and discovered that it has the ingredient, Wheat Gluten.  We are returning the bread today.  We have yogurt in the fridge which does not say 0% Aspartame so we are not going to have it.  We are thankful that I came across the article about these ingredients so that we can make better and safer choices when it comes to our diet.  It is so important to read the labels of items before buying them. 

The Bible teaches that our bodies are sacred–temples of the Holy Spirit.  This means that we are to abstain from foods and beverages that can be harmful to our bodies.   Our bodies belong to God not to us.  He bought them at a great price.   Therefore, we are encouraged to “glorify God in your body…” (1 Corinthians 6:20).  “Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God” (1 Corinthians 10:31).

These words of John are for all of us, “Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers” (3 John 1:2).

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

