Jesus' Footprints

Imitators

Posted on: 15 Sep 2010

Just the other day I heard our toddler saying, “Be careful, okay?  Okay?”  I was amused because I knew that he was imitating his father and me.  We are always telling him to be careful.

I remember watching the movie Jaws and the part where Michael was imitating his Dad, the chief when they were sitting at the dining table.  He was mirroring his father’s every move and his mother found it very touching.  Our kids imitate us whether we like it or not.  They say what we say and in the same intonation.  They do what we do.   Hopefully, we are good examples for them to follow.

As Christians we are called to imitate God who is the perfect example.  Paul writes in Ephesians 5: 1:  “Therefore be imitators of God as dear children.”  Jesus followed His Father’s example.  He said to Jews who wanted to kill Him because He made Himself equal to God, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner” (John 5:18, 19). 

When we are around our children or interacting with them, let us be very careful about what we say and do.  They are watching and listening and they pick up things very easily.  If we imitate God and reflect His goodness, then we have nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

  • jesusfootprints: Hi there, I finally got around to checking out your website. I read about how the ministry was started. And I checked out your section on the Sabb
  • Melissa: This is cryatsl clear. Thanks for taking the time!
  • blowjob: Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I've truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I'll be subs

Categories

