Jesus' Footprints

Why Worry?

Posted on: 14 Sep 2010

This morning on the way to the Dentist our financial situation was on my mind.   My husband knew that I was worried and he tried to reassure me that with God’s help we will get through this.   When we got to the Dentist, I realized that I didn’t have money for the bus.   My husband had asked me if I had money earlier and I told him that I did, forgetting that I had tokens to pay the fare at the station but no money for the bus which would take me to the station. We had more than enough change on the counter in the kitchen.

He did not have any change so I worried about how I would pay the bus fare and considered cancelling my dental appointment.  I told the Dentist about my dilemma and he graciously offered to lend me the change for the bus.  So, that problem was solved.  I was able to keep my appointment. 

While I was in the Dentist’s chair getting my teeth cleaned (one of my least favorite things), Charles Stanley was on the television screen above my head.  He did a sermon on Matthew 6:25-34 where Jesus was telling believers to stop worrying.  He made it clear that worrying had no place in the life of a child of God.   He gave the remedy for worrying. 

1.  Remember that God knows what your needs are.  He is aware of your situation or problems.  

2.  Since God knows what your needs are, the next step would be trust Him to take care of them.  Give your needs to God. 

3.  Once you have given your needs to God, you can now focus on Him.   You are thinking about the things of God and seeking to live your life according to His will.  Once you do this everything else will fall into place.

Worrying does not add anything to your life except stress which could lead to other things such as poor health.  It takes up time that could be best spent in prayer.  When you find yourself worrying about something, cast your cares on God because He cares for you (1 Peter 5:6).

Leave a Reply

